Japanese Street Fashion: Photos by Akif Hakan Celebi

12Nov09

Japanese Street Fashion by Akif Hakan Celebi

Last month I promised you more from photographer Akif Hakan Celebi, after posting his portraits of geisha. Today I’ll skip the introductions and go straight to his series on Japanese street fashion. You can check out his extensive body of work on his official website and deviant art site.

7

Japanese Street Fashion by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 4 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 6 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 7 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 8 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 9 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 10 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 11 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 12 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 12 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 14 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 15 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 3 by Akif Hakan Celebi

Japanese Street Fashion 17 by Akif Hakan Celebi

61 Responses to “Japanese Street Fashion: Photos by Akif Hakan Celebi”

  1. Very cool pics!! I love all the different styles (:

  2. These are really cool!

  3. The japanese streetstyle will never stop amazing me, they really dare with fashion!

  4. Love the shirts

  5. Hi:
    So impressive.
    I would be pleased if my students could get the essence of your thoughts.
    I’m an English teacher,happy to start blogging and discover a wonderful space of exchange and creativity.
    keep going.
    My blog is :http://hellochichaoua.wordpress.com

    Aziz

  6. The blue contacts are freaky but I love the way they play and express through dress!

  7. 7 singlemedia

    Hello!
    I really like these pictures.
    They show, that Japanese People wont dressed like gaishas all the time! (…just kiddin)

    I like the quality of these pictures a lot, really well done!

  8. I loved looking through these – more!

  9. I love Japanese Street Fashion. I think one of my favorite things to do when I was working in Tokyo last year was to just walk around the streets on weekends and see what all the young people were wearing.

    Thank you for posting this. I’m definitely going to check out Akif Hakan Celebi’s work now.

  10. wow that’s some very ‘different’ stuff, i like it although i would never wear it, i like it:]

  11. 11 KyraRaeWaln

    wow!!!
    some are kinda scary
    some are casual
    and some are just really weird
    but it’s good
    those are good pictures.

  12. 12 chrissy

    its like they are wearing art

  13. 13 Phryne

    Fashion hasn’t been what it was for centuries. Poor girls. They’d look better in traditional dress. In my time all we needed was a white shawl…. the world should go Greek.

  14. more than half of this chicks i wouldnt touch with a stick xD i kid i kid, but yeah, i guess occidental culture as always been amazed and captivated by the freedom of being who you are on Japan, fashionwise.

    clever photoshop treatment, makes the colors pop a lot more.

    Greetings from Mexico!

  15. 15 suburbanmummyuk

    Oh I LOVE them all! I am coming to Japan in 2010 and I hope to take lots of people photographs are people generally pretty happy to have their picture taken?

  16. Thanks for pointing that one out. I’d love to see more of Hakan’s photography with Japanese models. And truely, Japan is a place where that kind of fashion is possible and goes completely unnoticed (at least in some areas of Tokyo). Other than that … keep up the good work and …. more on Japan. Good work.

  17. Great pics.

  18. good subjects!

    but I wonder, how do you approach them?

    do you say they end up on the internet?

  19. I love it! It’s so fresh and different.

    Not that I’d ever have the balls to pull it off, myself, but it’s still awesome in it’s own way. 🙂

  20. very hip.

  21. 21 M.

    It is interesting to see what passes for “fashion.”

  22. 22 Manami

    Tokyo is by far my favorite place in the world for people watching and new wardrobe ideas! Great post—I’ll be sure to check out the website!

  23. 23 SlacS

    wow Xellent,
    these foto are really nice,
    and good looking for japanese style..
    i luuuv’ them styles, have to go to japan ^^
    thx a lot
    🙂

  24. Great photos although Japanese fashion has always been perplexing to me.

  25. 25 irish87

    I don’t know whether I should be afraid of pack my bags and move to Japan.

  26. These photos are wonderful. I’m a HUGE fan of Japanese street fashion. I’ve always wanted to go, but have not been able to yet. There are also several very good looking women in these pictures. I love the fun colors and crazy patterns. So glad I was able to check these out! Thanks for sharing.

  27. Beautiful! These pics show the cultural variation in today’s Japan.
    – Michael

  28. Beautiful pics, very unusual

  29. Feelin it. Love your culture.

  30. wow they really put us to shame expressively! we should be as free as them about dressing and bite off our stiff upper english lips. they all look amazing!

  31. This is awesome!!! ^_^ I ♥ Japan, and their culture…I mean, everything, and your pics are amazing!!!

  32. Some of them look really far fetched (lol) but for the most part I am jealous they are so bold and trendy;-)

  33. 33 rebuilttranny

    Nice.

  34. Hey i was passing thru courtesy of a friend who told me about this site. I decided to check o ut your blog since i have a fascination with Japanese clothing styles and especially their goth and cosplay.

    I must say you really did a good job capturing the variety essence of the various types of clothing styles people wear over their. Im very impressed and encourage your photography to capture even more

  35. Wow! Great photos! I’ll have to forward this blog to my daughter, who works with lots of Japanese kids and is always commenting about how “cool” they dress. This rocks.

  36. Wow! Very interesting. Not very geisha-like! 🙂 Gloris

    http://www.gloriadelia.wordpress.com

  37. Wow, it’s always so refreshing to see Japanese Street Fashion. I wish there was that free flowing sense of style in the states sometimes. I love the creativity. It’s definitely like an art!

  38. 38 Home Girl Next Door

    YALL DOIN THA DAMN THANG JAPAN!!!

  39. I like it! Those are fun!

  40. Thank you for posting these pics. They’re incredible.
    I live and work in Seoul right now and I plan to take my first trip to Japan in March.
    Can hardly wait!

    Felicia, This Time in Seoul

  41. Gorgeous! All have their own originality!

  42. 43 tylerandalyssa

    Nice shots! I wonder what city they were taken in. So far Osaka has proven to have the most incredible/outrageous/fantastic outfits and fashion. I like your blog, very Japanese. http://tylerandalyssa.wordpress.com

  43. This photos are beautiful. Japan is beautiful. :]

  44. beautiful and creative japanese 🙂

  45. 46 Reg

    Amazing photos, these guys are so original and daring in their style!

  46. nice fashion show

  47. 48 Ivo

    realy fine post… i like this girl from ring…realy i like it

  48. 49 sunshinelollipop

    so many different styles. very fun!

  49. 50 Holly Appling

    Wow, amazing photos! Love the clothes. They seem like works of art to me. There seems to be such a freedom and intimate detail in how they dress. I will definitely be taking inspiration from these photographs for the next time I go shopping. Really beautiful…

  50. 51 enchantress81

    wow..those pictures make me want to step my style game up.
    Very nice!

  51. 52 ennecruzin

    uwaaa~! craving for more. love eeet. just so good. another thing why i love japanese! 🙂 HEHE. but i’m not confident enough to wear some of the styles here, those that are like for parties and such. HEHE. i guess the ones with quite simplicity but outstanding, that i adore!

  52. some of those girls are smokin’ hot, some are ugly, but all of the photos are well done!

  53. Disgusting!

  54. But, very creative!
    i think i was just .. impressed so much. Amazing!

  55. I love these pics! They all have such individual style, it’s really inspiring.

  56. Japanese females dressed like that get me all HOT!!

  57. 58 Pretty Project

    Really like the first one…out on the second! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  58. … beautiful shot and color …
    Ciao Seba.

  59. 60 Vitor

    Great photos. But, with all due the respect, I wonder Bahia has more fashion than Tokyo 😉


  1. 1 Arrested » Blog Archive » japanese street fashion pictures

Leave a Reply

